books · fiction · literature · reading challenge

Five challenges…

March readingWith March now with us, and spring finally feeling closer (yet I write this from a wet and windy Manchester) it seems right to begin anew. So I am challenging myself to read five new books this month of which three are entirely for myself and two are required reading for my course.

First up…
The Silkworm (Robert Galbraith)
After a long wait for its paperback release I’m looking forward to reemerging myself into some crime fiction, ex-solider turned detective Cormoran Strike is embarking on a murder investigation once again, with an author’s unpublished manuscript holding coincidental similarities to his own murder it’s going to be a good read. I greatly enjoyed J. K. Rowling’s first book under Galbraith’s pseudonym and hope her detective skills are once again proven.

The Shock of the Fall (Nathan Filar)
Having won costa book of the year and jumped out at me on the shelf a few times I had to buy Filar’s first novel. I know nothing more then the blurb instructing me about Simon’s death. But this book intrigued me, so we’ll have to wait and see.

The Miniaturist (Jessie Burton)
Another book on fate and discovery through the replication of a doll house, added mystery entices me into this read. With the added bonus of being set in Amsterdam, a city that greatly intrigues me, and beginning in 1686 is a slightly different feel to the more modern day literature above but with such critical acclaim how could I not place this on my bookshelf?

Lyrical Ballads (Wordsworth and Coleridge)
Not too surprisingly this is on my reading list for this semester, beginning the English Romance period and intertwining politics, revelation, class, age and literary history into emotive language. It will bring new light to my interpretation of history and how it can alter literature.

Castle Rackrent (Maria Edgeworth)
With rebellion forming the main theme of Edgeworth’s first novel, the political tension of Ireland of the 1790’s could run parallel to itself three hundred years later. Another book on my reading list giving once again a new view on the history it represents.
Let me know if you’ve read any of these titles, or challenging yourself to some new books this spring!

Leave a Reply

