book review · books · classics · literature · review

Little Black Classics

IMG_4130On the 80th anniversary of the very first penguin books, a collection of 80 classics have been reproduced all at the wonderful price of 80p. The most difficult part; deciding which ones to buy!

Like many others, and I’m sure this blog has made it clear, I love books; in all shapes and sizes. I enjoy exploring authors of new and old, one by one adding to my collection. So with the release of the Little Black Classics, it seemed a perfect opportunity to explore and expand my literature collection.

IIMG_4133 therefore tried my hardest to whittle the collection down to ten, for my first purchase at least. I went in to Waterstones without having previously decided on my choices, instead I waited to see what took my fancy. I chose mostly based on the authors, some of whom I’d read and enjoyed, others who I felt it was about time to start reading their work. Others came from the title, which caught me for no particular reason, each backed up by the tiny blurb on the reverse. One was recommended for me while I stood and stared at my options for far too long, and my final choice, Darwin’s It was snowing butterflies is for a friend who introduced me to the Little Black Classics.

So with ten new books purchased, it’s time to start reading them and watch my collection grow…

IMG_4136

3 thoughts on “Little Black Classics

  1. I bought ”Aphorisms and Love” and ”The Meek One”.

    Well,I was interested in many more,but their ratings on goodreads were not that great.In fact,many of the titles are only available in this Penguin edition,as they are generally part of a bigger book.

    I have to say I was a bit disappointed,as I expected some more known classics to be in this edition.But then,that wouldn’t make any sense; instead of buying their more pricey paperbacks and hardbacks,people would turn to those tiny,cheap books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

