books · fiction · literature · reading

Comfort Reading

This time of year I become stuck in the revision madness that makes up exams, essays, and general deadlines. So in order to keep myself sane, I end up reaching for the same battered titles on my bookshop and revisiting a story I know well. I always go back to the same few books, normally it’s a Harry Potter book that ends up on my bedside table, but other things pop in there too. There’s always something comforting in the choice I make, it’s a book I’ve read tens of times, a book that I already know the ending to but I re-emerge into the tale again and again.

It might be that somewhere subconsciously I’m trying not to get sucked into a new story when I have work to do, or it could be a way to be securely kept in a world and with characters I know. Regardless of the psychosocial reason behind it, I love revisiting a story I know I will enjoy, a novel I could never become bored with.

Which book do you find yourself reaching for again and again? Is there such a thing as comfort reading? Just a few thoughts from a girl who’s had too much Shakespeare.

 

 

Leave a Reply

